Running through nature is essential for mental health and happiness 

I felt absolutely amazing running today – made it nearly 3/4 of the way without alternating to a walking pace. I felt like sprinting and did some good sprints.

Then I noticed the sprinklers shooting straight into the sidewalk with others jogging around it. I sprinted straight into the sprinkler blast with a big wolffish grin on my face … I don’t know what it is, but I love to break with convention and let my freak flag fly.

When I got back to the car, I didn’t want to go home, so I went exploring. Neat trails, graffitied bridges, shopping carts full of who knows what, empty beer cans & cases, and a few tents.  

I turned back of course. It’s just fellow humans going through tough times, but I couldn’t help thinking it’s why I don’t go out running after sunset. That and its colder I suppose.

I hate to say it, but it does remind me of how truly blessed I am. Now I’m back at my place, ready to get some reading done in the yard. 

About johnonstocks

I've been trading stocks since 2003, active on Motley Fool's discussion boards and using first Hidden Gems, then Global Gains. I no longer have the newsletters, but I keep up on the WSJ and read David Rosenberg everyday at gluskinsheff.com. Education: CFA level 2 candidate MBA-focus in Finance, Marshall, University of Southern California - expected Dec 2010. BS Mechanical Engineering, UC San Diego, June 2002
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

