New focus on the positive

I apologize to my readers for the prior post.  I didn’t bother announcing it on Facebook or Twitter because it isn’t something that’s fun and uplifting to hear.  At the same time, I don’t want to delete it because it still feels true – but being a total downer will never be to my benefit.  So while I could talk about my fears of a future economic crash based on the fact that the imbalances in the financial system have been getting worse not better, or the bearish view that once the fed stops pouring free money into the stock market and housing market and allows interest rates to rise, the subsequent fall in prices is inevitable, I feel I should find a way to change tone and maybe alter the subject.

The truth is I really enjoy having a creative outlet, and as an avid reader I feel that writing comes much more natural than anything else.  I really felt a burden being lifted on that last post like now that I’ve got that off my chest I can move on.  

There is an exciting new development in virtual reality as a product called Oculus rift is scheduled to hit the market’s early next year.  From what I’ve read, it looks so real that I would highly suggest they make their first first-person-shooter game be a paintball range with different team games rather than a modern warfare game with real-looking guns.  In addition, imagine the ability to see a friend or family member in a virtual snorkeling trip so that you can spend time with loved ones after they move away.  

There are major developments in particle physics with the Higgs boson seeming old news now, big developments in cost-effective space exploration tools, etc … As a once big reader of science fiction, I would love to see probes sent out to map out the asteroid belt past Mars … Just have two flying opposite directions relaying information about rough mineral content (based on X-ray spectrometry perhaps) along with coordinates and velocity vectors so that a nasa computer could start a realistic mineral map based on that.  It would teach us a lot about the solar system and space as well as giving potential information important to space mining or planetary colonization to keep our forward-looking space sci-fi crowd excited.  

Perhaps I could research and discuss some of my theories, such as how evolution is not totally random based on accidental mutations, but how the environment itself seems to have an affect on what mutations start to show up.  Just the fact that most accidental mutations would either be insignificant or highly debilitating, whereas the many traits animals develop tends to be environmentally connected rather than totally random.  One positive thing about this view is that it means the humorous prediction in the movie Idiocracy is dead wrong – that people will develop higher IQ’s over generations simply because the information, education, and mental stimulus of the world is playing a larger role than ever before.

I believe we’re going to hit an amazing new wave of scientific advances in the next generation or two.  This is because with the spread of the Internet rapidly going through even the poorest of countries, such as the booming tech market in Nigeria that you read about in Stealth of Nations, we’re getting information out to millions of people who never had access to it before.  They can now ask “why is the sky blue,” “what causes the tides”, get real answers, and dive in to as much as they would ever want to learn.  In the Age of Enlightenment with Newton, Boyle, Hooke, etc most people were illiterate and only those born into fortunate positions would ever get the opportunity to advance the world of science … Now that one-in-a-billion scientist could be born into rural India and actually have a chance online to develop his interests and make his own scientific breakthroughs. Astounding to think about.

There’s no shortage of positive material out there, I just need to get positive minded and pull it out, and Then I can feel good about sharing my observations with the world rather than merely venting my insecurities over things I cannot control.  

Maybe I’ll look into explaining why the solar system is planar… I will never believe it’s random, there is a force which encourages the planets to rotate in a plane, just like the extreme magnetic forces that hold the rings of Saturn into Turin bands, but with weaker gravity wells being the driver perhaps.  That’s something I merely need to research online to explain.  

I’ll cut it here and just say that I really am not a bitter negative person, and I really do wish everyone the best in their quest for happiness.

About johnonstocks

I've been trading stocks since 2003, active on Motley Fool's discussion boards and using first Hidden Gems, then Global Gains. I no longer have the newsletters, but I keep up on the WSJ and read David Rosenberg everyday at gluskinsheff.com. Education: CFA level 2 candidate MBA-focus in Finance, Marshall, University of Southern California - expected Dec 2010. BS Mechanical Engineering, UC San Diego, June 2002
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

